SocketLabs On-Demand Purge Queue Feature
What happens when I click the "Purge Queue" button on the Queue Details page of the Control Panel?
Initiating a purge of the current outbound messages in queue for your SocketLabs On-Demand server will immediately pause delivery for your server. Once the delivery has been paused we apply an action to all outbound messages to force them to "fail" delivery. This allows the message details to be logged in the failed messages report. Once the queue is empty, the delivery capability of the server is restored, allowing new mail to continue to properly be delivered.
SocketLabs recommends halting the injection of new outbound messages when requesting a queue purge. Messages injected during the short period of time in which messages are being cleared out could cause unwanted message failures.
Please note that messages being sent to you via the Notification API will not be purged from the Queue. Delivery of these messages will be attempted after the process is complete.
Where can I see details of the outbound messages that were purged from the queue?
Once an outbound message is purged from the queue you will be able to find the statistical details of the message in the Failed Messages report. Messages that have been purged will show in the failed messages report as a "Temporary" failure, and the messages will have a failure reason of "500 5.4.0 System rule action set to fail connection."
Customers using the SocketLabs On-Demand API can identify outbound messages purged from queue based on the following details returned from the messagesFailed API method.
Reason: 421 4.3.0 Message was purged from queue.
Why are purged outbound messages counted against my monthly message and bandwidth alotments?
SocketLabs calculates a server's usage of messages and bandwidth by recording the details of each message as it is injected into our network for delivery. Regardless of the eventual delivery result, all messages injected to SocketLabs are counted against your allowances. By the time a clear queue request has been initiated the messages have already entered our systems and been calculated into the server's usage details. Messages purged from queue are treated similiarly as messages that encountered a temporary delivery failure.
Can I see the content of the outbound messages that were purged from the queue?
Unfortunately, at this time the content of the outbound messages that have been purged from the queue is not accessible as the content is permanently purged and only the statistical details of the message are available.